What will happen on the effective date?
There have been a few options that WhatsApp has also provided for all its users. All its users will still have the option to accept its updates after May 15th. The company’s policy will also apply to all inactive users.
You have an option to export your chat history on Android or iPhone before May 15th and easily download a report of your account.
All WhatsApp users have to be very sure if they plan to delete their account from their Android, iPhone, or KaiOS device, as the process is irreversible. All the messages and data of the users will be erased, and you will also be removed from all of your WhatsApp groups. According to the company, the WhatsApp backups will also be deleted.
Whatsapp recently revealed that adding some new features within the application that it is claiming will help its users understand the new policy and clear the ”misinformation” around it.
WhatsApp continues to clear the air on all its privacy-related confusions to its users.
Through the use of all these methods, the app assures all of its users that all their chats will remain private and encrypted post the new privacy terms and that companies who will be getting access to all your chats having business accounts are “entirely optional.”
According to Whatsapp, they have very much reflected here on what they could have done better. The company wants all of its users to know their history of defending end-to-end encryption and trust that they are committed to protecting people’s privacy and security.
Written by: Mannat Manuja, LinkedIn